SATURDATE | LORD OF THE RIBS DAVAO

SATURDATE (1)

MRS. A

Hurray for date nights with the mister *wink*

On one fine Saturday night after Mr. A’s work (yeah, he has work sometimes on Saturdays), we decided to try out the newest resident restaurant in the city which hails from the Queen City of the South, LORD OF THE RIBS

I recently found out about Lord of the Ribs from my blogger friends who went to LOTR’s opening last May 26, 2017 and I got pretty curious because they said the food was really good. Plus, I craved so much after seeing all their photos on social media. So when Mr. A asked me where I wanted to go after his Saturday banking stint, I immediately led the way to Brick Lane Square in Obrero.

LORD OF THE RIBS DAVAO, with the catch phrase “ONE RIB TO RULE THEM ALL”,  is a restaurant which originated from Cebu City. The name is wittingly derived from the famous movie “LORD OF THE RINGS” which is quite catchy. Spouses Mr Derrick and Mrs Catherine Tan decided to bring the already known Sugbo Original restaurant to the Durian Capital of the Philippines because they saw the potential of the restaurant to succeed in Davao’s Food Scene.

THE PLACE

Locating the place is not really a problem if you’re familiar with Obrero’s Brick Lane Square. Once you’re there, the place can be easily spotted.

SONY DSC

Minimalist but elegant decors on the walls

SONY DSC

“ONE RIB TO RULE THEM ALL”

SONY DSC

nice wooden decors giving life to the dark painted ambiance of the restaurant

SONY DSC

The place can accommodate more or less 20 people at a time. It may look small on the outside but is surprisingly semi-spacious on the inside.

THE FOOD

These are what we ordered

SONY DSC

Rack of Ribs for Mr. A and Peri Peri Chicken for yours truly

SONY DSC

Peri-Peri Chicken (Php 140) : South African Grilled Chicken, Java Rice with Chili Con Carne on the side. I sort of found out a bit late that the side dish was actually chili con carne (when I already finished my chicken meal). The chili con carne is quite good and I wished I was able to eat it together with the chicken. Oh well, maybe next time!

SONY DSC

I found the chicken very delectable and oozing with flavor. The Java Rice was a gratifying addition and complemented the chicken quite well thanks to the additional flavor it brings. I personally prefer eating Java Rice over plain rice just because of the additional flavor. This was a great combo.

SONY DSC

Rack of Ribs (Php 270): 500 gram ribs, barbecue sauce, curry rice and white sauce.

SONY DSC

While eating this, one cup of curry rice is simply not enough but since Mr. A did not want to eat too much carbs that day, he just finished off the ribs without ordering another cup of the Asian staple. I tried the ribs myself and I found the barbecue sauce to be savory. To be honest, I didn’t even try the white sauce myself because the barbecue sauce was already enough for me to enjoy the ribs. It was the right amount of sweetness that I like in barbecue sauce. Plus 500 grams for 270 pesos is already a great deal.

SONY DSC

The curry rice was a surprise to me at first taste. It was good but I preferred eating the ribs with the java rice on my Peri Peri Chicken. I guess I was just not used to the curry taste but nevertheless, it was still good.

MENU

Aside from the food Mr. A and I ate, here are the other food offerings of LORD OF THE RIBS

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

According to some of my friends, their Dynamite Rolls (Php 120) is delicious and indeed great as an appetizer while waiting for the main dishes.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

French Fries for only Php 25? Not bad of a deal.

Another version of their menu

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

I read from one of my co-blogger’s post that he liked the Peri Peri Pork Belly (Php 140) so I’m definitely trying that one out next time we come back.

Judging from the prices on the menu, it can be concluded that the food are indeed priced reasonably and can fit everybody’s budget. I definitely recommend Lord of the Ribs for those who are fond of eating ribs and chicken like us, the Angliongtos. Ha ha!

LORD OF THE RIBS DAVAO is located at Brick Lane Square Compound, Guzman Street, Barrio Obrero, Davao City. They are open from 11 am to 2pm, 4 pm to 10pm. You can check out their Facebook page HERE.

For further reference, you can check out the related post of www.mydavaocity.com down below:

Lord of the Ribs Davao | My Davao City

 

Leave a Reply

