FAVORITE | KUSHIYA’S TAKOYAKI

ppy

MRS. A

Takoyaki is a ball-shaped Japanese snack made out of vegetables, sometimes diced octopus (common in Japan) inside a ball of battered flour mixture. In the Philippines, what is commonly the ingredients of Takoyaki is that it is full of vegetables since Octopus is not the common in the country. This type of snack can be found inside the malls around the supermarket area, or outdoors like near schools, offices, etc. This Japanese delight given a Filipino twist is indeed quite popular.

I have never really liked the taste of Takoyaki to be honest. The first time I tried Takoyaki was when I was in college. A stall used to sell takoyaki for I think around 20 pesos for 4 pieces at the canteen of my school. The day I first tried it was also the last day I had my tongue taste takoyaki for a couple of years.

Well, up until just recently when I started to appreciate takoyaki on a different level. I was able to try the Takoyaki by both Tori Yamu and Kushiya and those are the two restaurants that made me change my opinion about this Japanese dish. For this post, I’ll be highlighting the Takoyaki by Kushiya.

Story telling time: So I did a sort of huge favor for one of the managers of the bank I am currently connected with. After doing such a favor, he gave me two plastic disposable tupperwares containing 6 pieces of Takoyaki each.  Perfect timing indeed as it was almost merienda time when he gave me these. Thanks again, Sir Yankee!

Of course when food is abundant, it is best shared with friends.

SONY DSC

So I ate two already before I took this picture.

SONY DSC

Hey there, Papi!

SONY DSC

Merienda time. I don’t know about you but I really feel that food is best enjoyed with friends.

Kushiya’s Takoyaki, underneath that ball of flour, is actually full of vegetables. This is something that I appreciate despite me not being a veggie fan. The one I had during college was, errr, let me say 70% flour, 20% vegetables and 10% air. I guess that’s one of the reasons why I never liked the one I tried in college and appreciated this one instead.

The battered ball of flour is soft and gives out a bit of juice during the first milliseconds of biting it. The vegetables were cooked just right. No vegetables were over cooked nor lacked any flavor.

Another thing about me (and some of my officemates, too) is that I’m not really a fan of eating full veggies. But thanks to the delicious sauce of the Takoyaki, this added more flavoring to the food making me forget that I was eating vegetables in the first place. So yeah, the sauce was definitely a factor as to why I like Kushiya’s Takoyaki.

So if you’re in Kushiya (whether in their Quirino or Damosa branches), I highly recommend you include the Takoyaki in your string of orders. Thumbs up for that!

I’ll be making a separate post about Kushiya soon. But if you’re curious about the restaurant, you can visit KUSHIYA at their Quirino Branch (just beside Backyard Burger) and Damosa (inside the Sumo Asia Hotel Compound).

Leave a Reply

