TUESDATE | BAGOONG CLUB

MRS. A

SONY DSC

Jose Rizal loves Bagoong

Isn’t it funny how a shrimp paste-sour mango twitter thread craving could turn into a food trip date night for a bunch of friends?

That is exactly what happened a week ago involving me and a few of my blogger friends namely Ate Ria, Renz, Miel and Gem.

We decided to satisfy our bagoong cravings by dining at one of Davao’s newest restaurants – BAGOONG CLUB.

Here’s a brief overview: Bagoong is a very popular Filipino condiment which is made out of fermented small fish and shrimps, earning the moniker “shrimp paste”. This is usually paired with unripe mangoes or also used to add flavoring to pork and rice.

The name of the restaurant itself is already a giveaway. Bagoong Club serves shrimp paste infused dishes as well as other Filipino delicacies.

EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR

SONY DSC

There’s a guard that keeps the area secured.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Translation: “Please come in”

SONY DSC

Yellow lighting giving life to the place

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Bagoong Club is quite big in size which I estimate to accommodate around a hundred people at the same time.

SONY DSC

They also have private function rooms

SONY DSC

Bagoong Club has a name for a certain area of their restaurant like LAING, OKOY and this one, BULALO

SONY DSC

Kitchen is located downstairs.

 

FOOD

For my first visit at Bagoong Club with my Blogger Squad, these are the dishes that we ordered:

SONY DSC

Free Appetizer: Singkamas (Turnip) with Sweet and Spicy Bagoong

SONY DSC

Poqui-Poqui: a known Ilocano vegetable dish. I’m not really a fan of vegetables but I honestly found this very delicious.

SONY DSC

Crispy Pork Binagoongan: okay so I was a bit disappointed with this dish because 1.) it really did not meet my personal standard of “crispyness” and 2.) bagoong content was very sparse; too sparse to be even named as BINAGOONGAN.

SONY DSC

Mangga’t Bagoong: this is the ultimate reason why this dinner date came to be. It’s a no brainer. This is always a table classic among Filipinos. Good thing though that their BAGOONG (both regular and spicy) is very yummy.

SONY DSC

Chicharon Bulaklak: saving the best for last. The Chicharon Bulaklak left a very good impression on us. It was crispy and cooked just right. Sinful as it may be (hello, Cholesterol!) but it was worth every bite and crunch. I totally forgot about dieting after the first bite. (Diet? What Diet?)

 

MENU

SONY DSC

Menu on their Paper Place Mats

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

Full Menu

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

We paid a total of around Php 1,500 for the 5 of us which was not bad. The servings per order was good for around 23-5 persons already. However, Bagoong Club did not really give me that WOW factor. I guess it is because I was really disappointed with the Crispy Pork Binagoongan. I expected that dish to be the highlight of our dinner. Unfortunately, it turned our smiles into frowns because it did not meet our expectations. It was just sad.

But HANDS DOWN to their bagoong. I’m telling you, both regular and spicy bagoong are really good. The spicy bagoong was just the right amount of spicy for me. It never came to a point that I had to cringe or make a funny face just because I find the spicy bagoong too much. The regular bagoong, on the other hand, was sweet flavored and just perfect to neutralize even the most sour of all green mangoes. It was heaven with every bite. I guess that’s another reason why I got disappointed with their Crispy Pork Binagoongan because I know it would have tasted really good if they were more generous with the amount of shrimp paste on it.

So to sum things up, I have to say that Bagoong Club is still a place I would visit again and would also recommend to my friends. I just hope that they will improve their Crispy Pork Binagoongan since that was basically the only issue that gave me disappointment. I also read a few negative comments on their Facebook page so I hope the management will do something about this since the restaurant is indeed a promising Filipino restaurant. But the rest is quite okay, so to speak.

BAGOONG CLUB is located at University Avenue, Juna Subdivision, Matina, Davao City (in front of Philippine Women’s College’s parking area)

You can also check out their Facebook page HERE.

Also, for another review of Bagoong Club, please visit my blogger friend’s blog post as well —> CLICK HERE

 

 

Leave a Reply

