CHRISTMAS GIFT BUYING TIPS

MRS. A

I have always been like this even before Mark and I got married. I started buying early gifts for friends and family since I was still in High School and I carried that practice up to this day. And Mr. A has acquired this practice since we started dating. A few friends of mine constantly ask me how I avoid the Christmas rush. So I’ll be sharing a few tips here on our blog.

1.) Set a budget at the start of the year – this is very important especially for those who don’t want to overspend on Christmas. Setting a budget should be the first step because it will act as a guide on the “whats and wheres” of buying the gifts. Let’s say you decide to spend only P 10,000.00 for gifts, stick with that budget.

2.) Make an early Christmas list of recipients – But that’s too early to do! Well, you should still do it. Besides, it’s editable as the year progresses. This will also help in coordination with number 1 so that you will have an idea on what is the budget per person. Aside from that, making an early list helps because let’s face it, if we write a list in just one day, we tend to forget other people that should also be on the list. So it helps to write it gradually.

3.) Keep an eye on SALES – and by sale, I really mean those REAL DEAL Sales and not just “Sale” if you know what I mean. I’m talking about slashing off more than 50% of the original price. If you’re eyeing on something to give to a loved one but your wallet says no at the moment, this is the perfect tip for you. So it also pays to have an idea of what the original price is so that when sale time comes, 50% off should be legitimate. And once that happens, buy!

4.) Don’t buy everything at once! – this is what I always tell people. If you jampack buying everything in just one day, tendencies are you lose what you bought or make a very impulsive purchase. It pays to buy in installment – not installment payment using a credit card, but installment in terms of maybe buying for 5 people this month when there’s a sale, and buying for another set of people in the next sale. This way, you avoid buying lots of stuff in just one day and also avoid buying just for the sake of buying and giving something.

5.)Know your recipient – this is also very important and I have made a lot of mistakes before with this one. I remember buying my classmate in high school a pair of green frog socks because I really thought they were cute. Turns out, my classmate had a frog phobia. She wasn’t totally mad at me because I had no idea, but it pays to know if your recipient would be happy with the gift that you will buy for him and her.

There you have it. Those are just some of the tips about Christmas shopping and basically what I do to avoid the Christmas rush. And remember, whatever the amount of that gift is, big or small, it is the thought that counts.

Jesus is the reason for the season.

Leave a Reply

